Russell Heritage

Explore our archives of fascinating stories

Heritage Corners

Russell Museum enjoys telling some of the fascinating stories from the town’s history. Over the years, our local paper Russell Lights carries regular feature articles called Heritage Corner which feature these early gems about the town and our people. Some of our earlier articles are reproduced here for information.

A selection of them have been reproduced here. When you visit Russell, look out as you may well recognise some of the places and names from our past. Scroll back to view archived stories from our past. 

 

History Sometimes Repeats – #83

History Sometimes Repeats – #83

First hotel licence, oldest surviving church and New Zealand’s first locally owned bank - Kororareka has had them all. The New Zealand Banking Co’s first bank opened its doors in Bank Square, Turners Terrace, (just south of  where The Strand meets Pitt St today) in...

read more
A Stitch in Time – #86

A Stitch in Time – #86

Those who know their stuff about quilts will be acquainted with their amazing history, which shows, they date back to early Egypt and Mongolia, to an ancient time when quilts not only kept one warm but were also used as carpets.  Quilting is a relatively simple...

read more
“An Unsettled History” Recognised – #87

“An Unsettled History” Recognised – #87

On Sunday 9 August, Te Paparahi o Te Raki (The Northland Inquiry) facilitator Barry Rigby and Registrar Tina Mihaere met with the Russell Museum trustees and staff in order to give special  acknowledgement of Russell Museum’s recent exhibition “An Unsettled History”. ...

read more
Captain Handy’s Daughter – #89

Captain Handy’s Daughter – #89

During the 19th century hundreds of American whaling barks set sail from New England for foreign seas.  In December 1844, lured by the news of great fortunes being made in the Pacific whaling grounds, Captain Ichabod Handy sailed the Belle out of New Bedford harbour. ...

read more
Scout’s Honour – #90

Scout’s Honour – #90

Built at the back of the Russell Town Hall in 1932 for the Russell Guides and Brownies Association, the Russell Scout Hall, as it was known in our community, served as the Sea Scout, Scout, Brownies and Cub Den, for many years.  Interest waned, the hall fell into...

read more
Lindauer’s good teaching – #95

Lindauer’s good teaching – #95

Bay of Islands College recently held their Year 11, 12 and Senior Graduation prize giving and a number of ex Russell Primary School pupils, Ashe Cooper, Judy Elliot, Jack Blomfield, Jonty Hooson, Tyrone MacInnes, Hayley Jenner and Andrew Frankum were recognised for...

read more
“Overheard in the Gallery” – #96

“Overheard in the Gallery” – #96

It’s coming up to silly season again when the symbiotic relationship between holiday makers and Russell’s economy hopefully reaches its potential.  Locals become good ambassadors guiding tourists to our historic spots, appropriate shops, restaurants and galleries. ...

read more